Skip To The Main Content
PDA News


The Envelope, Please!

Apr 30, 2018
Honor Award Winners

Each year, PDA recognizes members whose contributions have helped the Association fulfill its mission at the Awards Dinner, held during the Annual Meeting. PDA congratulates each winner for their service to the Association.

Honorary Membership

This is PDA’s most prestigious award, conferring lifetime membership benefits to the recipient. The award has traditionally been given in recognition of long service significant in nature to PDA and requires unanimous approval from the Board of Directors.

  • Rich Levy, PhD

Gordon Personeus Award

Presented in memory of the late Gordon Personeus, past PDA President and longtime volunteer, this award is intended to honor a PDA member, other than a Board member, for long-term acts or contributions that are of noteworthy or special importance to PDA.

  • Michael De Felippis, PhD
  • Janeen Skutnik-Wilkinson

Frederick J. Carleton Award

This award is presented as a tribute to lifetime contributor, past President, past Executive Director, and Honorary Member Frederick J. Carleton, and is designated for past or present Board members.

  • Gabriele Gori
  • Christopher Smalley, PhD

Martin VanTrieste Pharmaceutical Science Award

Established in honor of long-time contributor and Chair Martin VanTrieste, this award is given annually for outstanding contributions to the advancement of pharmaceutical science.

  • Michael Miller, PhD

Michael S. Korczynski Award

An award established in recognition of contributions made toward the development of PDA’s international activities by Michael S. Korczynski, PhD.

  • Ursula Busse, PhD
  • Hirohito Katayama, PhD

Edward Smith Packaging Science Award

In honor of long-time volunteer Edward Smith, who led PDA’s packaging science activities, this award is given in recognition of extraordinary contributions to PDA and the packaging science.

  • Mathias Romacker

Distinguished Service Appreciation Award

This award is given in recognition of special acts, contributions or services that have promoted the success and strength of PDA.

  • Patricia Hughes, PhD
  • Maria Jacobs, PhD
  • Stephan Krause, PhD
  • Hanns-Christian Mahler, PhD
  • Roman Mathaes, PhD
  • Tsuguo Sasaki, PhD

James P. Agalloco Award

The James P. Agalloco Award is presented annually to the PDA faculty member who exemplifies outstanding performance in education. The award is named for James P. Agalloco, in honor of his work in developing the PDA Education program.

  • Lee Leichter
  • Frederick D. Simon Award

    The Frederick D. Simon Award is presented annually for the best paper published in the PDA Journal of Pharmaceutical Science and Technology. This award is named in honor of the late Frederick D. Simon, a former PDA Director of Scientific Affairs. This year’s award went to three recipients for their article, “Particulate Generation Mechanisms duringBulk Filling and Mitigation via New Glass Vial,” which was published in the September/October 2017 issue of the PDA Journal.

    • Christopher Timmons
    • Chi Yuen Liu
    • Stefan Merkle

    Distinguished Editor/Author Award

    This award recognizes the author or editor selected by PDA members for their contribution to PDA’s technical books. This year’s award went to the author of the book, Method Development andValidation for the Pharmaceutical Microbiologist.

    • Crystal Booth

    PDA Europe Service Appreciation Award

    This award is presented annually for special acts, contributions or services that have contributed to the success and strength of PDA’s European activities.

    • Siegfried Schmitt, PhD

    Service Appreciation Award

    This award is presented annually for special acts, contributions or services.

    • Deborah Autor
    • Hal Baseman
    • Ursula Busse, PhD
    • Joyce Bloomfield
    • Stephan Rönninger, PhD
    • Maureen Hertog
    • Keith Koehler
    • Sanjit Singh Lamba
    • Jason Mattis
    • John Michael Morris
    • Kenneth Paddock
    • Leticia Quinones, PhD

    President’s Award

    This award recognizes a PDA staff member, other than senior staff, whose exemplary performance has contributed to PDA’s success during the previous year.

    • Emily Lyons
    • Katie Ruiz


    comments powered by Disqus