Skip To The Main Content
PDA News

PDA News

And the Winners Are!

by Rebecca Stauffer, PDA | May 30, 2017

PDA members whose contributions have helped the Association fulfill its mission are recognized each year at the PDA Awards Dinner, held during the Annual Meeting. PDA congratulates and thanks each winner for their service to the Association.

Honorary Membership

This is PDA’s most prestigious award, conferring lifetime membership benefits to the recipient. The award has traditionally been given in recognition of long service significant in nature to PDA and requires unanimous approval from the Board of Directors.

Georg Roessling, PhD

Gordon Personeus Award

Presented in memory of the late Gordon Personeus, past PDA President and longtime volunteer, this award is intended to honor a PDA member, other than a Board member, for long-term acts or contributions that are of noteworthy or special importance to PDA.

Art Vellutato

Frederick J. Carleton Award

This award is presented as a tribute to lifetime contributor, past President, past Executive Director, and Honorary Member Frederick J. Carleton, and is designated for past or present Board members.

Junko Sasaki

Anders Vinther, PhD

Edward Smith Packaging Science Award

In honor of long-time volunteer Edward Smith, who led PDA’s packaging science activities, this award is given in recognition of extraordinary contributions to PDA and the packaging science.

Roger Asselta

Martin VanTrieste Pharmaceutical Science Award

Established in honor of long-time contributor and Chair Martin VanTrieste, this award is given annually for outstanding contributions to the advancement of pharmaceutical science.

Kurt Brorson,PhD

Hannelore Wilkommen,

Distinguished Service Award

This award is given in recognition of special acts, contributions, or services that have promoted the success and strength of PDA.

Ed Balkovic, PhD

Cylia Chen-Ooi

Ghada Haddad

Tsutomu Kamikukita, PhD

Morten Munk

PDA Europe Service Appreciation Award

This award is presented annually for special acts, contributions, or services that have contributed to the success and strength of PDA’s European activities.

Brigitte Reutter-Haerle

Service Appreciation Award

The Service Appreciation Award is presented annually for special acts, contributions, or services.

Shannon Bellino

Gaetano Fiorentino

Beth Kirschenheiter

Melissa Morandi

Jonathan Morse

Susan Schniepp

John Shabushnig, PhD

David Spaulding

Brian Underhill

Michael VanDerWerf

Glenn Wright

James P. Agalloco Award

The James P. Agalloco Award is presented annually to the PDA faculty member who exemplifies outstanding performance in education. The award is named for James P. Agalloco, in honor of his work in developing the PDA Education program.

John Ludwig, PhD

Michael S. Korczynski Award

An award established in recognition of contributions made toward the development of PDA’s international activities by Michael S. Korczynski, PhD.

Gabriele Gori

Frederick D. Simon Award

The Frederick D. Simon Award is presented annually for the best paper published in the PDA Journal of Pharmaceutical Science and Technology. This award is named in honor of the late Frederick D. Simon, a former PDA Director of Scientific Affairs. This year’s award went to six recipients for their article, “Semi-Quantitative Analysis of InherentVisible Particles for Biopharmaceutical Products,” which was published in the March/April 2016 issue of the PDA Journal.

Patricia Cash, PhD

Stephan Krause, PhD

Sophia Levitskaya-Seaman, PhD

Maryam Mazaheri

Derek Murphy

Roja Narwal

Distinguished Editor/Author Award

This award recognizes the author or editor selected by PDA members for their contribution to PDA’s technical books. This year’s award went to the editor of the book, Assuring Data Integrity for Life Sciences.

Siegfried Schmitt, PhD

President’s Award

This award recognizes a PDA staff member, other than senior staff, whose exemplary performance has contributed to PDA’s success during the previous year.

Creixell Espilla-Gilart

Trevor Swan